Akon, 50 Cent, and Lenny Kravitz to Appear on New Michael Jackson Album


While the dialogue continues over whether it is truly Michael Jackson’s vocals on the recently released “Breaking News,” the first official single from the King of Pop’s new album MICHAEL should leave little to debate.

The Akon-assisted “Hold My Hand,” which was recorded in 2007, will premiere on Monday, November 15, on MichaelJackson.com. A handwritten note from Michael belonging to his Estate indicated his wish that the song be the first single on his next project. An unfinished version of “Hold My Hand” leaked in 2008, but Akon recently completed the final production.

“The world was not ready to hear ‘Hold My Hand’ when it leaked a couple years ago. We were devastated about it,” shared Akon. “But its time has definitely come; now in its final state, it has become an incredible, beautiful, anthemic song. I’m so proud to have had the chance to work with Michael, one of my all time idols.”

In addition to Akon, 50 Cent and Lenny Kravitz make appearances on the 10-track set of never-before-heard recordings, due December 14. View the tracklisting below.

1. “Hold My Hand” (Duet with Akon)
2. “Hollywood Tonight”
3. “Keep Your Head Up”
4. “(I Like) The Way You Love Me”
5. “Monster” feat. 50 Cent
6. “Best of Joy”
7. “Breaking News”
8. “(I Can’t Make It) Another Day” feat. Lenny Kravitz
9. “Behind the Mask”
10. “Much Too Soon”

You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.



  1. Cassive

    Hmm, just 10 tracks? Unnecessary features. But hey, this is MJ, he’s the best. Oh yeah …FIRST!


  2. Chri$

    Hmm… it doesn’t look like MJ’s work. Songs Like:
    Hollywood Tonight, Behind the Mask, Much Too Soon.
    what u guys think??


  3. M!ke.

    Im skeptical about this album after hearin the first single but iLove MJ. i’ll probably convert most of the tracks from youtube.

    BTW only children and ppl who have no life get excited about being the first person to commment on a blog post


  4. J.J

    Global #1 hit


  5. Ted

    Ok – this is Michael Jackson’s work, without a doubt.

    First of all, the Lenny Kravitz collaboration has been known about for a while – and both of them wanted it released within time. Lenny has stated, though, that he wanted it properly finished before releasing it because that was Michael’s wish. The fact that the collaboration made this album says that it is in it’s finished state. Also, I heard the rough version and it is a BRILLIANT, CLASSIC song. Guys, you’re in for a BIG treat with that one.

    Also, Michael loved rap, and he was always interested in working with the G-Unit crew – there are some interviews with Lloyd Banks where he talks about visiting Michael in Bahrain and confirms that there was a 50-Cent track.

    These features are not something that was added to the songs after Michael’s death, Michael CHOSE and worked with these artists.

    While there may be doubts (in my opinion, unfounded doubts with little truth in them) that some of these songs are not Michael – the majority of them seem to be because there was talk about these songs and Michael working on them. The titles are also typical MJ song titles.

    I’m VERY excited about this – and Hold My Hand and Another Day are both ANTHEMIC, AMAZING songs in their rough versions so I’m really excited about the finished versions.

    Like I said, we’re in for a BIG treat.


  6. K.K.

    I’m not sure for this, and I won’t buy the album until i know it’s the real MJ.


  7. 49ers160

    Why the hell is 50 cent on here


  8. Sweetbaba

    Why with the rappers, I love Hip-hop but not on a Michael Jackson record they’ll ruin it.


  9. carl

    Akon and 50 cent? #imdone


  10. you

    mj is dead. stop beating his dead body in the grave


  11. jhuntdaprodigy

    Hold My Hand, Another Day, & Keep Your Head Up are all definitely real. Breaking News is the only sketchy one I’ve heard so far, even though that song go to too hard lol. Imma prolly cop thisi though, to support Mike. I wish he would’ve recorded a real song with Kanye during his lifetime, on the Billie Jean remix, Ye had like, a sentence or two


  12. Ted


    “Also, Michael loved rap, and he was always interested in working with the G-Unit crew – there are some interviews with Lloyd Banks where he talks about visiting Michael in Bahrain and confirms that there was a 50-Cent track.”

    If you’re hating on this album, then you’re hating on Michael, and you’re hating on a dead idol. And you’re a hater and an asshole.

    Do you people really think they just grabbed Akon and 50 Cent and put them in the songs after Michael died?


    Michael chose them, Michael worked with them, Michael WANTED them on his album.


  13. T.I. Supporter

    Ted Tells The Truth. THESE ARE REAL SONGS


  14. SoleFoodU - Online Magazine - Hip Hop Fashion Sneakers Sports || Solefoodu.com

    [...] collection of 10 previously unheard recordings from the late King of Pop, simply titled Michael, will be released next Tuesday (Dec. 14), featuring appearances from 50 Cent (“Monster”), Lenny [...]

Leave a Reply