Asher Roth Signs to Def Jam, Readies Album for March

Asher Roth

Asher Roth is stepping back into the spotlight. The Philadelphia-based MC has officially announced his signing to Def Jam Recordings and is prepping his sophomore album Is This Too Orange? for a spring release.

With the ink fresh on the paper, Roth has been in the studio with Pharrell, Jim Jonsin, and others working on the follow-up to his 2008 debut Asleep in the Bread Aisle, due in March on SRC Records/Def Jam.

“Def Jam is a great place to call home,” said the 26-year-old rapper, who was previously signed to SRC/Universal Motown. “I’m excited to get back to the basics with good, honest music.”

Island Def Jam President and COO Steve Bartels welcomed him to the family. “The Def Jam brand stands for quality, creativity, and authenticity,” he stated. “We believe Asher Roth delivers all this and more. He’s a great fit for us and we look forward to delivering Asher’s special brand of great hip-hop music as only Def Jam can.”

SRC Records CEO Steve Rifkind added, “Partnering up with Def Jam on Asher’s album is a great opportunity for all parties involved.”

Following the release of his mixtape Seared Fois Gras with Quince and Cranberry and The Rawth EP, a free album with producer Nottz, Roth will release Pabst & Jazz Sessions, a collaboration with The Cool Kids’ Chuck Inglish and production duo Blended Babies. His latest collection will be available December 20 on iTunes, with Asher’s proceeds benefitting The Philadelphia Hunger Coalition.

You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.



  1. listen

    so nothing really has changed because he’s still signed to SRC and Def Jam is still under the Universal umbrella….


  2. harvey

    ^^^Yeah you right…But signing a joint deal wit Def Jam gives him better CD shipments because Universal Motown didn’t ship enough copies!!! So this is big because he’ll get promo this time!!!


  3. PopBITCH



  4. hood

    I work for a major label what this means is he is signed to def jam but src still gets points off the album.its almost like a imprint deal.this is something he had to do to get out his deal.Similiar to what e1 is doing with atlantic for maino,gorilla zoe and juvenile last year.Also rick ross has the same deal with slip n slide.In real life terms you and your wife break up.she starts dating another dude but still carries your last name.


  5. Kyle

    “Asleep In The Bread Aisle” was actually a really solid debut album IMO. I bought that album on a whim and luckily I didn’t regret it. I’ll definitely check out his new album and hopefully Def Jam was a good move for him!


  6. Asher Roth – Pabst & Jazz [Mixtape] ~

    [...] are on this mixtape and it seems that Asher & Blended Babies got some chemistry going. Asher’s Def Jam debut should drop next year. Check it out 1. Pabst And Jazz (feat. Hassani Kwess & Kenny Keys) 2. Choices (feat. Action [...]

Leave a Reply