The Soul Sessions Volume 2

New Music: Joss Stone – ‘(For God’s Sake) Give More Power to the People’

Joss Stone brings down the house on “(For God’s Sake) Give More Power to the People,” a cover of The Chi-Lites’ 1971 single. The soulful remake, along with others, will appear on the British powerhouse’s upcoming album The Soul Sessions Volume 2, due July 31.

“I really had fun revisiting The Soul Sessions’ idea and I’m really pleased with the results,” said Stone of the sequel to her 2003 debut. “I’ve committed long term to my label Stone’d Records, but it felt right to team up with Steve Greenberg and S-Curve again for this release. I think there are some great songs on the album and I loved performing them with such brilliant musicians.”

See the tracklisting below.

The Soul Sessions Volume 2 Tracklisting

1. “I Got The…”
2. “(For God’s Sake) Give More Power to the People”
3. “While You’re Out Looking for Sugar”
4. “Sideway Shuffle”
5. “I Don’t Want to Be with Nobody But You”
6. “Teardrops”
7. “Stoned Out of My Mind”
8. “The Love We Had (Stays on My Mind)”
9. “The High Road”
10. “Pillow Talk”
11. “Then You Can Tell Me Goodbye”