Album Covers

Album Cover: Young Money – ‘Rise of an Empire’

Rise of an Empire

Young Money extends its reign with its second compilation Rise of an Empire. In advance of the March 11 release date, the cover art has hit the net. The ominous red artwork shows a moon and clouds with a castle in the distance.

The follow-up to 2009′s We Are Young Money features the single “We Alright” with Lil Wayne, Birdman, and Euro, as well as “Senile” with Tyga, Nicki Minaj, and Lil Wayne.

Drake’s “Trophies” and Nicki Minaj’s “Lookin Ass Ni**a” are also expected to make the cut, along with contributions from Christina Milian, Lil Twist, and Shanell.

“There’s nothing like it when the whole family gets together in the studio,” said Wayne. “YMCMB is stronger than ever, and everybody was truly on fire. We’re all blessed to be a part of this incredible Empire as it continues to thrive. I can’t wait for what’s next. Keep watching.”

[HHNM via Amazon]

Mixtape Cover: K. Michelle – ‘Still No Fucks Given’

Still No Fucks Given

On Valentine’s Day, K. Michelle will give the gift of free music with Still No Fucks Given, the follow-up to her 2012 mixtape 0 Fucks Given. The “V.S.O.P.” singer has unveiled the colorful cover art, which shows her smoking a cigarette against a pink backdrop.

“I still have some more I’d like to say! Something like a sequel,” tweeted K, who will tour with Robin Thicke starting February 21.

Hosted by DJ Sense, the mixtape will be available to download on Friday at 3 p.m. EST.

Earlier this month, she offered a teaser with her remake of Frank Ocean’s “We All Try” called “I Don’t Believe.”

Ashanti Stuns with New ‘BraveHeart’ Cover


Ashanti has switched up her BraveHeart cover once again. With eyes closed, the R&B diva holds a lock of hair in her fingers in the gorgeous close-up image, which appeared on (via HHNM).

She has collaborated with Rick Ross, Future, R. Kelly, Beenie Man, and Busta Rhymes on the follow-up to 2008′s The Declaration, which is set to feature production from Jerry Wonda, Detail, and Sak Pase.

The video for “I Got It” featuring Rick Ross is expected to premiere any day now. Watch a 30-second teaser here.

What do you think of Ashanti’s new album cover?

Album Cover: Rick Ross – ‘Mastermind’ [Deluxe]


Rick Ross pulls the trigger on the deluxe cover for his sixth album Mastermind. The illustrated artwork, designed by famed pop artist Mr. Brainwash, shows Rozay holding a gun to his head with colorful blood spurting out the other side.

On February 11, the MMG boss will drop his new single “War Ready” featuring Jeezy, which he describes as “the hit single the streets have waited years for.”

He has been in the studio with DJ Khaled and Diddy putting the finishing touches on the follow-up to 2012′s God Forgives, I Don’t.

Mastermind arrives March 4 featuring the Jay Z-assisted single “Devil Is a Lie” and “No Games” with Future.

See him unveil the deluxe cover art in full below.

Read the rest of this entry »

Kelis Serves Up ‘Food’ Cover, Tracklisting


Kelis returns to satisfy her hungry fans with Food, her first album in four years. In advance of its April 22 release date, the singer (and certified chef) serves up the cover and tracklisting via iTunes.

The 13 tracks include food-inspired titles such as “Cobbler,” “Friday Fish Fry,” and “Biscuits ‘n’ Gravy.” The album is now available for pre-order on iTunes along with the lead single “Jerk Ribs.”

The follow-up to 2010′s Flesh Tone will be released on U.K. indie label Ninja Tune. It was produced entirely by Dave Sitek, the founder of rock band TV on the Radio and producer for the Yeah Yeah Yeahs.

Food is described as “a soul record that’s as raw and alternative as it is classic.” The 34-year-old explores pain, happiness, and everything in between, while showcasing her “most frank and vulnerable vocals to date.”

See the tracklisting below.

Read the rest of this entry »

Rick Ross Reveals ‘Mastermind’ Cover, Readies New Single with Jeezy


On March 4, the Bawse is back. A month ahead of its release, Rick Ross has unveiled the cover art for his sixth album Mastermind. The project has spawned the Jay Z-assisted single “Devil Is a Lie” and “No Games” featuring Future.

But what’s more surprising is who’s featured on his next single. The MMG rapper joins forces with his former rival Jeezy on “War Ready,” which he describes as “the hit single the streets have waited years for.”

He has been in the lab with DJ Khaled and Diddy putting the finishing touches on Mastermind.

“Mybrother @iamdiddy went above and beyond long studio hrs helping perfect this album bringing new producers and musicians to the table,” tweeted Rozay.

Mastermind marks the follow-up to the Grammy-nominated God Forgives, I Don’t, which debuted at No. 1 in August 2012.

Watch the big reveal in the video below.

Read the rest of this entry »

Album Cover: ScHoolboy Q – ‘Oxymoron’


The countdown is on to ScHoolboy Q’s major label debut Oxymoron. In advance of the February 25 release, the TDE member has revealed the standard and deluxe cover art via iTunes.

The 15-track standard edition features the Kendrick Lamar-assisted single “Collard Greens” and party anthem “Man of the Year,” while the deluxe adds two songs including the Boi-1da-produced “Yay Yay.”

The South Central L.A. rapper has also been in the studio with J. Cole, 2 Chainz, Snoop Dogg, A$AP Rocky, Raekwon, Tyler, the Creator, and more.

The album is now available for pre-order on iTunes along with a new song called “Break the Bank,” produced by Alchemist. Stream it below.

Read the rest of this entry »