Jadakiss ‘The Last Kiss’ Album Listening

Rap-Up.com got a chance to preview Jadakiss’ new album The Last Kiss at Chung King Studios in New York City on Thursday night. Though he arrived a bit late due to some administrative work he had to handle back at the Def Jam offices (perhaps some “rainmaking,” cue the video), Jadakiss was ready to “bang out” to some bangers off his highly anticipated third LP.

Similar to his previous works, Kiss tha Game Goodbye and Kiss of Death, Jada’s fetish for violent lyrics was massively present as tracks like “Pain & Torture” and “Death Wish” featuring Lil Wayne, where he spits about adversaries and their sometimes tragic endings, blared throughout the room. Teaming up with Pharrell on “Rocking With the Best,” Jadakiss aims at the ladies with strings and The Neptunes’ notoriously thick bassline. Fast forward to the infectious flow and heart-pounding bassline of “Cartel Gathering,” which includes Ghostface Killah and Raekwon cameos, making it so very hip-hop.

The Last Kiss features production from The Neptunes, Buckwild, Red Spyda, Black Keys, Baby Grande, and many others. Meanwhile Lil Wayne, Young Jeezy, Pharrell, Barrington Levy, Ne-Yo, Jazmine Sullivan, Ghostface, Raekwon, and fellow D-Block members Sheek Louch and Styles P all lend guest spots.

Although the album appeared complete, Jadakiss made it clear it’s still awaiting some finishing touches, one of which includes a verse from Jay-Z on “Pain & Torture.” That news is definitely something to look forward to.

Overall, the listening session was a pleasurable experience thanks to the Southern grub and Grey Goose cocktails. At times, the event got sidetracked by the inexperienced engineer, lousy sound system, and sporadic spaz-out moments, courtesy of the rapper himself. Nonetheless, on behalf of Jada, The Last Kiss is definitely a solid effort, giving “Gatorade in a CD form, to put some electrolytes back in the game on a Northern, Eastern perspective.” NY stand up!

Here is the official tracklisting for The Last Kiss, set to drop March 10 April 7.

1. “Pain & Torture”
2. “Can’t Stop Me”
3. “Something Else” featuring Young Jeezy
4. “Things I’ve Been Through” featuring Luther Vandross
5. “One More Step” featuring Styles P
6. “Rocking With the Best” featuring Pharrell
7. “Time’s Hard” featuring Barrington Levy
8. “I Tried” featuring Avery Storm
9. “Cartel Gathering” featuring Ghostface Killah and Raekwon
10. “Smoking Gun” featuring Jazmine Sullivan
11. “Searching” featuring Sheek Louch
12. “Come and Get Me” featuring S.I. and Sheek Louch
13. “By My Side” featuring Ne-Yo
14. “Money and Jewelry”
15. “What If”
16. “Letter to B.I.G.” featuring Faith Evans
BONUS: “Death Wish” featuring Lil Wayne

For more photos and video from the listening session, visit StraightOuttaNYC.

Words by Lexie Perez
Photo by Cassidy “Sparrow” Maldonado