Album Snippets: M.I.A. – ‘/\/\/\Y/\’

M.I.A.’s third studio album /\/\/\Y/\ (pronounced Maya) opens with the clicking of a keyboard and ends with the sound of a dial-up Internet connection. The 12-track disc, heavily inspired by the World Wide Web, features production from Rusko, Blaqstarr, Diplo, and Switch. Preview one-minute snippets from the Oscar nominee’s latest effort before its release on July 13.

“If you’re an M.I.A. fan and you buy a new M.I.A. record, you want to hear something you’ve never heard before. This record gives you that,” Rusko told Billboard.

The Hype Williams-directed video for “XXXO” will debut later this month. M.I.A. is also scheduled to appear July 13 on “The Late Show with David Letterman” and the following night on “Late Night with Jimmy Fallon.”

1. “The Message”
2. “Steppin’ Up”
3. “XXXO”
4. “Teqkilla”
5. “Lovalot”
6. “Story to Be Told”
7. “It Takes a Muscle”
8. “It Iz What It Iz”
9. “Born Free”
10. “Meds and Feds”
11. “Tell Me Why”
12. “Space”
13. “XXXO (Blaqstarr Dirty Mix)” [Bonus]