Rihanna and Kanye West

Rihanna, Kanye West Nominated for 42nd NAACP Image Awards

  /  01.12.2011

Rihanna and Kanye West

The competition is fierce for the 42nd NAACP Image Awards. 50 Cent was on hand to announce the nominees earlier today in Beverly Hills, with Sade leading the music categories with four nominations, while Rihanna, Kanye West, Usher, Nicki Minaj, Willow Smith, Beyoncé, Maxwell, and Alicia Keys all nabbed nods for their respective accomplishments.

Sade, who released her critically-acclaimed Soldier of Love last year, was honored in Outstanding Female Artist, Outstanding Song and Music Video for “Soldier of Love,” and Outstanding Album. In the latter category, Sade is up against Usher’s Raymond v. Raymond, Kanye West’s My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, John Legend and The Roots’ Wake Up!, and Smokey Robinson’s Now and Then.

Nicki Minaj goes head-to-head with Willow Smith for Outstanding New Artist, where they’ll duke it out against Bruno Mars, B.o.B, and Jason Derulo. Rihanna received two nods for Outstanding Female Artist and Outstanding Duo, Group, or Collaboration with Eminem for “Love the Way You Lie,” while Alicia Keys was honored for “Un-thinkable (I’m Ready)” in Outstanding Music Video and Outstanding Song.

Tune in to see who takes home a statue when the winners are revealed live on March 4 at 8 p.m. on FOX.

Outstanding New Artist
Bruno Mars
Jason Derulo
Nicki Minaj
Willow Smith

Outstanding Male Artist
Cee Lo Green
Kanye West

Outstanding Female Artist
Chrisette Michele
Corinne Bailey Rae
Mary J. Blige

Outstanding Duo, Group, or Collaboration
Diddy-Dirty Money
Eminem & Rihanna
Herbie Hancock (feat. India.Arie, Chaka Khan, and others)
John Legend and The Roots
The Black Eyed Peas

Outstanding Music Video
“Fistful of Tears” – Maxwell
“Soldier of Love” – Sade
“Un-thinkable (I’m Ready)” – Alicia Keys
“Whip My Hair” – Willow Smith
“Why Don’t You Love Me” – Beyoncé

Outstanding Song
“Bittersweet” – Fantasia
“Fistful of Tears” – Maxwell
“Forget You” – Cee-Lo Green
“Soldier of Love” – Sade
“Un-thinkable (I’m Ready)” – Alicia Keys

Outstanding Album
My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy – Kanye West
Now and Then – Smokey Robinson
Raymond v. Raymond – Usher
Soldier of Love – Sade
Wake Up! – John Legend and The Roots

Full list of nominees.


Chika Speaks Out Following Backlash Over Twitter Rant About Zonnique Pullins' Child

The rapper complained about the kid’s behavior during a recent flight.

DC Young Fly Breaks His Silence Following Jacky Oh's Death

“We thank everyone for their well wishes,” the Atlanta talent said in a statement to ...

Cardi B Reacts To Jacky Oh's Passing: "So Heartbreaking"

Jacky Oh’s death was announced on Thursday (June 1). She was only 33.

Latto And Cardi B Turn All The Way Up In "Put It On Da Floor Again" Video

Offset and Angel Reese make brief cameos in the lively clip.
View More

Sponsored Stories