Janelle Monáe

New Music: Janelle Monáe – ‘What Is Love’

Janelle Monáe shakes up the soundtrack to Rio 2. The Electric Lady not only lends her voice to one of the characters, she also serves up some island-flavored funk on the first single “What Is Love,” inspired by Brazil’s Carnival.

The animated film flies into theaters on April 11, while the soundtrack arrives March 25 featuring contributions from Bruno Mars, Ester Dean, B.o.B, Philip Lawrence, and more.

On March 27, Janelle will perform the song live on “American Idol.”

Listen to “What Is Love” and see the tracklisting below.

Rio 2: Music From the Motion Picture Tracklisting

1. “What Is Love” – Janelle Monáe
2. “Rio Rio” – Ester Dean (feat. B.o.B)
3. “Beautiful Creatures” – Barbatuques, Andy Garcia, and Rita Moreno
4. “Welcome Back” – Bruno Mars
5. “Ô Vida” – Carlinhos Brown and Nina de Freitas
6. “It’s a Jungle Out Here (Brazilian)” – Philip Lawrence (feat. UAKTI)
7. “Don’t Go Away” – Anne Hathaway and Flávia Maia
8. “Batucuda Familia” – Carlinhos Brown, Siedah Garrett, Jamie Foxx, Rachel Crow, Amy Heidemann, Andy Garcia, and Rita Moreno
9. “Poisonous Love” – Kristin Chenoweth and Jemaine Clement
10. “I Will Survive” – Jemaine Clement and Kristin Chenoweth
11. “Bola Viva” – Carlinhos Brown
12. “Favo De Mel” – Milton Nascimento
13. “It’s a Jungle Out Here” – Philip Lawrence
14. “What Is Love (Cast)” – Janelle Monáe, Anne Hathaway, Jesse Eisenberg, Jamie Foxx, and Carlinhos Brown
15. “What Is Love (The GoonRock Mix)” – Janelle Monáe*
16. “Angry Birds Rio 2 Theme” – Barbatuques *

* Exclusive Target Bonus Tracks