Compton: A Soundtrack by Dr. Dre

Dr. Dre Announces Final Album 'Compton'

  /  08.01.2015

It’s official. Dr. Dre put the rumors to rest and finally announced his first album in 16 years. Entitled Compton: A Soundtrack by Dr. Dre, the project was inspired by the N.W.A biopic Straight Outta Compton and will drop next week.

During “The Pharmacy” radio show on Beats 1 on Saturday (Aug. 1), Dre took to the airwaves to share the big news. “I decided during principal photography [for Straight Outta Compton] that I was leaving the set, coming to the studio, and I felt myself just so inspired by the movie that I started recording an album,” he said. “I started recording a soundtrack. I kept it under wraps, and now the album is finished.”

He described it as “bananas,” adding, “It’s an inspired-by album, it’s inspired by Straight Outta Compton. I’m really proud of this, I’m excited about it.”

During Saturday’s announcement, he finally closed the book on his ill-fated album Detox, which had been in the works for over a decade. “This is something you’re not gonna hear many artists say. The reason why Detox didn’t come out is because I didn’t like it,” he revealed. “It wasn’t good. The record, it just wasn’t good. I’ma keep it all the way 1000 with you. Seriously, I worked my ass off. I don’t think I did a good enough job, and I couldn’t do that to my fans, and I couldn’t do that to myself, to be perfectly honest with you. I just wasn’t feeling it.”

Compton will be available Aug. 7 exclusively on iTunes and Apple Music. “I’m ready this time, it’s really coming out,” said Dre of his first album since 1999’s The Chronic 2001. “I’m so excited about it. I think everybody’s gonna really get into these records, man.”

It will serve as his final album. “This my time to get it right. All my friends came in. We all came together to build this thang. It’s gonna be my grand finale. The record is crazy.”

The 16-track compilation features appearances from Eminem, Kendrick Lamar, Ice Cube, Snoop Dogg, The Game, Marsha Ambrosius, Jill Scott, and more, and is now available for pre-order. See the tracklisting below.

Compton: A Soundtrack by Dr. Dre Tracklisting

1. “Intro”
2. “Talk About It” (feat. King Mez & Justus)
3. “Genocide” (feat. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay)
4. “It’s All On Me” (feat. Justus & BJ the Chicago Kid)
5. “All In a Day’s Work” (feat. Anderson Paak & Marsha Ambrosius)
6. “Darkside/Gone” (feat. King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius & Kendrick Lamar)
7. “Loose Cannons” (feat. Xzibit & COLD 187um)
8. “Issues” (feat. Ice Cube & Anderson Paak)
9. “Deep Water” (feat. Kendrick Lamar & Justus)
10. “One Shot One Kill” – Jon Connor (feat. Snoop Dogg)
11. “Just Another Day” – The Game (feat. Asia Bryant)
12. “For the Love of Money” (feat. Jill Scott & Jon Connor)
13. “Satisfiction” (feat. Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius & King Mez)
14. “Animals” (feat. Anderson Paak)
15. “Medicine Man” (feat. Eminem, Candice Pillay & Anderson Paak)
16. “Talking to My Diary”

Sponsored Stories