New Music: Disclosure feat. Lorde – ‘Magnets’

Disclosure’s forthcoming sophomore album Caracal is a case study in what happens when a major label puts some backbone into rounding up the best possible features—Sam Smith, The Weeknd, Miguel, and Lorde all appear.

Now the song featuring the latter, “Magnets,” has premiered via Zane Lowe on Beats 1. It’s very timely, as Lorde croons about the turning seasons over Disclosure’s luxurious beats.

“We’ve had a record summer,” she sings, “Can’t turn it down.”

Intriguingly, Disclosure seems to be turning away from strict house beats toward looser pop structures, with clattering percussion that’s nowhere near a “four on the floor” pattern. Expect this one to make waves on the charts.

Caracal will be released Friday, and Disclosure will embark on a North American tour this fall, with stops in Los Angeles, Atlanta, New Orleans, Chicago, and New York.

Caracal Tracklisting

1. “Nocturnal” feat. The Weeknd
2. “Omen” feat. Sam Smith
3. “Holding On” feat. Gregory Porter
4. “Hourglass” feat. Lion Babe
5. “Willing & Able” feat. Kwabs
6. “Magnets” feat. Lorde
7. “Jaded”
8. “Good Intentions” feat. Miguel
9. “Superego” feat. Nao
10. “Echoes”
11. “Masterpiece” feat. Jordan Rakei
12. “Molecules”
13. “Moving Mountains” feat. Brendan Riley
14. “Bang That”
15. “Afterthought”