In the Lonely Hour (Drowning Shadows Edition)

New Music: Sam Smith - 'Drowning Shadows'

  /  11.02.2015

Sam Smith is just days away from re-releasing his 2014 debut In the Lonely Hour, which went on to sell nine million copies worldwide and win four Grammys. The two-disc set will include familiar hits like “Stay With Me” and “I’m Not the Only One,” plus live versions and covers of Whitney Houston’s “How Will I Know?” and Amy Winehouse’s “Love Is a Losing Game,” along with a new song called “Drowning Shadows,” which he debuts today.

“‘Drowning Shadows’ is the saddest song I’ve ever written and the least radio-friendly song I’ve ever written,” Smith told Zane Lowe (via EW). “I wanted to leave people on this artistic little song and this moment. This is proper… really dark.”

He penned “Shadows” before “Stay With Me” and other songs on In the Lonely Hour, but he wasn’t satisfied with the production. The “depressing” song is about him being at a crossroads and making a decision about whether he wanted to go out or stay in. “One would lead to gay clubs and one would go home. I was in such a lonely sad place, I’d have to decide whether to stay out or go home,” he explained.

Also included on Drowning Shadows are Smith’s collaborations with Mary J. Blige (“Stay With Me”), A$AP Rocky (“I’m Not the Only One”), John Legend (“Lay Me Down”), and Disclosure (“Latch” and “Omen”).

In the Lonely Hour (Drowning Shadows Edition) arrives Friday.

In the Lonely Hour (Drowning Shadows Edition) Tracklisting

Disc 1

1. “Money On My Mind”
2. “Good Thing”
3. “Stay With Me”
4. “Leave Your Lover”
5. “I’m Not The Only One”
6. “I’ve Told You Now”
7. “Like I Can”
8. “Life Support”
9. “Not In That Way”
10. “Lay Me Down”
11. “Restart”
12. “Latch (Acoustic)”
13. “La La La”
14. “Make It to Me”

Disc 2

1. “Drowning Shadows”
2. “Love Is a Losing Game”
3. “Nirvana”
4. “How Will I Know?”
5. “Omen (Acoustic)” feat. Disclosure
6. “Latch” feat. Disclosure (Live from Madison Square Garden, New York)
7. “Stay With Me” feat. Mary J. Blige
8. “I’m Not The Only One” feat. A$AP Rocky
9. “Lay Me Down” feat. John Legend


Lil Wayne Disputes Internet Claims of His Net Worth

“I don’t have a cent close to that,” he said of his reported fortune.

Chlöe Bailey Addresses Quavo Dating Rumors

She spilled the “tea” during an interview with Latto.

6ix9ine Resurfaces in Cuba After Gym Beatdown

The rapper is back on his feet after he was hospitalized.

Bow Wow Blasts Jermaine Dupri, Claims He Tried to Keep His Publishing

He once again discredited the So So Def producer’s involvement in his career.
View More

Sponsored Stories