New Music: BJ the Chicago Kid feat. Kendrick Lamar - 'The New Cupid'

  /  02.11.2016

Here’s a Valentine’s Day anthem with a twist. BJ the Chicago Kid and Kendrick Lamar have teamed up once again on “The New Cupid” off the Illinois crooner’s debut album In My Mind.

The soulful track isn’t exactly a love song. Instead, BJ declares that “Cupid’s busy in the club” and that “love is gone” over a sample of Raphael Saadiq’s “Oh Girl.” Backed by the mellow instrumental with a hip-hop flare, K-Dot reflects on The Commodores, parkin’ lot pimpin’, and being “the realest.”

BJ and Kendrick have built quite a partnership throughout the years, collaborating on songs like “Faith,” “R.O.T.C. (Interlude),” “Kush & Corinthians (His Pain),” and “His Pain.”

But K-Dot isn’t the only rapper on the Chicago Kid’s album. In My Mind boasts a roster that also includes Big K.R.I.T. on “Resume” and Chance the Rapper on “Church.”

In My Mind isn’t due until Feb. 19, but you can stream “The New Cupid” below and the entire album via NPR.

In My Mind Tracklisting

1. “Intro”
2. “Man Down” (feat. Buddy and Constantine)
3. “Church” (feat. Chance the Rapper and Buddy)
4. “Love Inside” (feat. Isabella)
5. “The Resume” (feat. Big K.R.I.T.)
6. “Shine”
7. “Wait Til the Morning” (feat. Isa)
8. “Heart Crush”
9. “Jeremiah/World Needs More Love” (feat. Eric Ingram)
10. “The New Cupid” (feat. Kendrick Lamar)
11. “Woman’s World”
12. “Crazy”
13. “Home”
14. “Falling on My Face”
15. “Turnin’ Me Up”


Meek Mill Urges Fans To Buy Rap Snacks Amid Chris Brown-Ruffles Drama: “[They’re] Black-Owned And Taste Better”

Meek Mill seems to have reacted to Chris Brown’s claims about being pulled from the ...

Usher Reacts To Resurfaced MTV VMAs Performance With Nicki Minaj: "I Shouldn't Have Smacked Her Butt"

When asked about some of his “unhinged moments” onstage, Usher admitted, “I shouldn’t have did ...

Chris Brown Confirms "The 11:11 Tour" Will Commence Summer 2024

Although he didn’t announce supporting acts or dates, Chris Brown revealed “The 11:11 Tour” will ...

GloRilla Makes A Move On Damian Lillard Post-Divorce: "Whoever She Is Can’t Whoop Me"

GloRilla shared a picture of herself and Damian Lillard together with the caption, “Who n**ga ...
View More

Sponsored Stories