New Music: Royce 5'9'' - 'Tabernacle'

  /  03.03.2016

Royce 5’9” is gearing up for Layers, his first solo album in nearly five years, which he describes as the most personal and introspective music he has ever recorded. On the autobiographical first single “Tabernacle,” the Bad Meets Evil rapper reflects on a “powerful day” that changed his life.

“Most significant day in my life,” Royce says as the song comes to an end. “I mean aside from meetin’ my man Marshall [Mathers], my son bein’ born, and my granny dying on the same day, and my grandma didn’t live anywhere near that hospital,” he explained. “I learned a lot this day. I learned that the universe has this way of balancing itself out. For me to lose such a beautiful soul in my granny, and gain such a beautiful soul with my first born son, little Royce, it showed me that God is real. God is real. And you know what they say: God giveth, God taketh away.”

Beyond the S1-produced “Tabernacle,” Layers is set to feature Rick Ross and Pusha T, as well as production from DJ Khalil, Mr. Porter, Nottz, and Jake One.

“My career is a true testament that everything is possible with hard work, dedication and determination” Royce told Complex. “Layers is 100 percent Royce 5’9”. I love rapping and creating music with Marshall [as Bad Meets Evil], Slaughterhouse, and [DJ] Premier [as PRhyme] because they all inspire me creatively in different ways. I haven’t released a solo album in five years and I’ve been through a lot with my sobriety and different situations; and now its time for me to tell my story. Layers is the beginning chapters of me telling my story.”

Layers drop April 15. See the tracklisting below.

Layers Tracklisting

1. “Tabernacle” (produced by S1)
2. “Pray” (produced by Mr. Porter) 3.) “Hard (What Was I Thinking)” (produced by Antman)
4. “Starter Coat” (produced by Mr. Porter)
5. “Wait” (produced by Jake One)
6. “Shine Your Light” (Skit)
7. “Shine” (produced by Nottz)
8. “Lincoln” (Skit)
9. “Real” (produced by DJ Khalil)
10. “Hello” (Skit)
11. “Misses” (On My Line) (produced by DJ Khalil)
12. “Dope!” (produced by Pain 1)
13. “America” (produced by S1)
14. “Layers” f/ Rick Ross and Pusha T (produced by Mr. Porter)
15. “Quiet” (produced by Mr. Porter)
16. “Gottaknow” (produced by Mr. Porter)
17. “Off” (produced by Mr. Porter)


Moneybagg Yo Pushes Album Back For Taylor Swift

CMG’s Moneybagg Yo decides to push his album back to allow space for Taylor Swift ...

Travis Scott Describes 'Utopia' Ahead of His Forthcoming LP

Multiplatinum rap superstar Travis Scott details the vision behind his forthcoming album ‘Utopia’ with ‘PIN-UP ...

Moneybagg Yo Shares Advice He Received From Young Thug: "You Have To Be Fake"

The CMG rapper gives some insight on how Young Thug’s advice helped mold him.

Sexyy Red Brings Nicki Minaj Along on "Pound Town 2"

St. Louis rapper Sexyy Red unites with Nicki Minaj on “Pound Town 2.” The remix ...
View More

Sponsored Stories