Rihanna to Receive Video Vanguard Award at VMAs

  /  08.11.2016

Rihanna will go down in VMA history.

The pop megastar is set to receive the Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award at this year’s MTV Video Music Awards for her “decade-long impact on music, pop culture, fashion, film, and philanthropy,” it was announced today.

RiRi will also take the stage to perform during the ceremony, which will air live from New York City’s Madison Square Garden on Sunday, Aug. 28 at 9 p.m. ET/PT.

“Honored to take the #VMAs stage as your video #VANGUARD award recipient LIVE from NYC on August 28!” tweeted RiRi.

She joins a prestigious list of past Vanguard recipients including Madonna, Beastie Boys, Britney Spears, Justin Timberlake, Beyoncé, and Kanye West.

Rihanna has won Video of the Year at the VMAs twice for 2007’s “Umbrella” and 2012’s “We Found Love.” She is nominated again this year for Best Female Video and Best Collaboration for “Work” featuring Drake.

Beyoncé leads this year’s VMAs with a career-best 11 nominations, followed by Adele with eight.


Tyla Lands Her First-Ever Major Fashion Campaign With Gap's Linen Moves Commercial

During an 80-second video, Tyla could be seen dancing to Jungle’s “Back On 74” in ...

Ye Urges Everyone To Call Him By His Legal Name Instead Of Kanye West

Ye explained the reasoning why: “No brand or numbers gonna force me to call myself ...

DDG Jokingly Responds To Being Cropped Out Of Halle Bailey And Halle Berry’s Photo

DDG hilariously reacted to a social media user seemingly cropping him out of the photo: ...

Drake Seemingly Calls For Tory Lanez's Release Amid 10-Year Sentence For Megan Thee Stallion Shooting

Drake posted “Three you” on his Instagram Stories, which many social media users took as ...
View More

Sponsored Stories