Rihanna Performs at 2016 MTV Video Music Awards

  /  08.28.2016

Rihanna kicked off the 2016 MTV Video Music Awards with a bang.

In honor of being this year’s Video Vanguard Award recipient, the pop superstar opened the show with a medley of hits. Rocking red shades, a Hood By Air shirt, and cut-off crotch pants—and flanked by a sturdy backup crew—she served up a few hits from her expansive catalog including “Don’t Stop the Music,” “Only Girl (In the World),” “We Found Love,” and “Where Have You Been” against a pink and white-lit stage.

The performance earned her a standing ovation from her famous peers including Alicia Keys, Britney Spears, and Kanye West.

Rihanna will be honored with the Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award, which was previously given to Beyoncé, Kanye West, and Britney Spears.

If you were left wanting more from RiRi, don’t worry. She’ll be back to perform three more times throughout the night.

For her second performance of the night, RiRi turned Madison Square Garden into a dancehall party. The island vibes started with “Rude Boy” and continued with “What’s My Name,” while a stage full of partygoers got their dance on. She capped it off with her latest chart-topper, “Work.”

Tracee Ellis Ross introduced RiRi’s third performance of the night.

“She’s conquered everything she’s set her mind to,” said the “Black-ish” star. “That’s why when Rihanna says pour it up you pour!”

Ri kicked off the set with “Needed Me,” holding it down solo at the mic, before teaming up with a bunch of ponytail-clad dancers who surrounded her in a circle. She went full savage with “Pour It Up” and “Bitch Better Have My Money,” growling to the crowd at Madison Square Garden as her crew donned some Rihanna-branded apparel and accented her moves.

For her fourth and final performance of the night, Rihanna showed off her versatility and vocal prowess. Draped in a silky gown, she belted out a trio of ballads, starting with “Stay.” Backed by her band, she transitioned into her 2012 hit “Diamonds,” closing with her latest single, “Love on the Brain.”


Blueface Reacts To Awkward Exchange With Lil Baby On Twitter

The Cali star was apparently thrown off by a recent Twitter response from his Atlanta ...

Nicki Minaj Calls Out Her Detractors During "Queen Radio" Promo

“Don’t get it twisted. There’s a difference between making calls and calling the shots,” the ...

Ari Fletcher Opens Up About Her Relationship With G Herbo And Moneybagg Yo

Ari Fletcher joined Yung Miami for the first live rendition of “Caresha Please” during REVOLT ...

Soulja Boy Reacts To Tory Lanez Mugshot: "Why They Do My Boy Like That?"

Soulja Boy reacted to the mugshot via Instagram Live: “Appreciate life, man, ‘cause that Tory ...
View More

Sponsored Stories