Dec. 99th

Yasiin Bey Announces New Album 'December 99th'

  /  11.28.2016

Dec 99th’s Yasiin Bey, the artist formerly known Mos Def, and Ferrari Sheppard, have announced their self-titled debut album December 99th.

After crafting the project in South Africa over the last year, the duo plans to release it exclusively via TIDAL on Dec. 9. Conceptually driven, the effort features nine songs, mostly done at 99 beats per minute by Sheppard.

This is Ferrari’s first full project but fans got a taste of what to expect with “Local Time,” “Seaside Panic Room,” and “N.A.W.,” which were released earlier this year. In August, Dec. 99th also unleashed “Hymn.”

The album follows controversy in South Africa, where Yasiin was arrested for trying to travel with an illegal “world passport.”

“I have reason to believe or suspect that there are political motivations behind the way that I’m being treated because this is following no reasonable strand of logic and it’s curious,” Bey said in January. “I haven’t broken any law and I’m being treated like a criminal.”

It was followed by a retirement announcement. “I’m retiring from the music recording industry as it is currently assembled today, and also from Hollywood, effective immediately,” he added. “I’ll be releasing my final album this year. And that’s that.”

Dec 99th Tracklisting

1. “N.A.W.”
2. “Blade In The Pocket”
3. “SPESH”
4. “Local Time”
5. “Tall Sleeves”
6. “Seaside Panic Room”
7. “Shadow In the Dark”
8. “It Goes”
9. “Special Dedication”

Sponsored Stories