New Music: J. Cole - 'False Prophets' + 'Everybody Dies'

  /  12.05.2016

After making waves with his 40-minute Eyez documentary, J. Cole has released two of the controversial tracks that won’t appear on his upcoming album 4 Your Eyez Only—”Everybody Dies” and “False Prophets.”

The latter finds Cole making thinly-veiled references to some of his peers including Kanye West, who “caught our hearts” but is now “fallin’ apart.” “When he tell us he a genius but it’s clearer lately,” raps Cole. “It’s been hard for him to look into the mirror lately / There was a time when this ni**a was my hero, maybe / That’s the reason why his fall from grace is hard to take.”

He also takes shots at Drake and his ghostwriting allegations. “When come to find out these ni**as don’t even write their shit,” he spits. “Hear some new style bubbling up, then they bite that shit.”

Additionally, Wale comes up in the second verse about a rapper who “wants to win bad” but claims “ni**as don’t fuck with him” despite his fans and major platform. “You too anxious livin’ life,” says Cole. “Always worried about the critics.”

Wale quickly issued a response with his “Groundhog Day” record, and has since been spotted courtside with Cole at a basketball game.

“Everybody Dies” also contains its share of subliminal disses, possibly aimed at Lil Uzi Vert and Lil Yachty. “I hate these rappers,” raps Cole. “Especially the amateur-eight-week rappers / Lil Whatever, just another short-bus rapper / Fake drug dealers turned tour-bus trappers.”

When asked about the potential diss, Yachty brushed it off. “It was cool,” he told Power 106. “I don’t listen to J. Cole. I definitely listened to it. It flooded my shit. It was everywhere. People said he was talking about me. I listened to it. He said Lil. I’m not little. My name has Lil in it but there’s a lot of Lil rappers. [It’s] either me or Uzi. Honestly, I don’t give a fuck.”

Both “Everybody Dies” and “False Prophets” are now available on iTunes and TIDAL, and the videos can be viewed separately outside of the Eyez documentary.

Cole’s fourth album 4 Your Eyez Only arrives Friday featuring 10 tracks including “Immortal,” “Neighbors,” and “Foldin Clothes.”


French Montana Says He Didn't Have To Choose Between Drake And Kanye West On 'Mac & Cheese 5'

Drake was noticeably absent from French Montana’s new project, but for a good reason: “We ...

Big Sean Trends On Twitter As Users Debate "Worst Bars Ever"

While many highlighted Big Sean verses in the popular Twitter thread, many defended him as ...

Kid Cudi Shuts Down The Possibility Of A Donald Glover Collaboration: "I'm Cool"

Kid Cudi’s reason for not wanting to collaborate with Donald Glover is unclear, considering they ...

J. Cole Teases New Music In "Might Delete Later, Vol. 1" Tour Vlog

J. Cole heightened anticipation for his next album with lines like, “‘The Fall Off’ is ...
View More

Sponsored Stories