Jidenna, E-40, & MadeinTYO Star in Spotify’s ‘Traffic Jams’ Series

With a new star-studded series titled “Traffic Jams,” Spotify and Russell Simmons’ All Def Digital have turned a routine afternoon in traffic into a hip-hop jam session.

The series forces an MC and producer to collaborate on a new song while sitting in Los Angeles’ infamous traffic. Not only do they create a new track from scratch, they also perform it once they arrive at their destination: the Spotify-All Def Stage.

This season of “Traffic Jams” is set to continue with Jidenna and Sonny Digital (May 2), MadeinTYO and araabMUZIK (May 9), Dae Dae and Marvel Alexander (May 16), and E-40 and Willie B (May 23).

Last month, the DoBoy-hosted series featured T-Pain and Southside; Joey Bada$$ and Cardo; D.R.A.M. and Melo X; and Pell and !llmind.

Prior to kicking off the series, Russell Simmons explained why he was excited about this initiative. “‘Traffic Jams’ is an exciting new premium series that shows off true talent — recording artists and producers — and their ingenuity, creativity and personalities,” he said. “It has improvisation, it has performances, and I’m pretty sure it will spawn a few new hits too — it’s amazing and Spotify is the perfect platform for it.”

Watch past episodes now on Spotify and stay tuned for new editions every Tuesday.