Ice Cube

Ice Cube Joins Interscope, Preps 'Death Certificate: 25th Anniversary'

  /  05.25.2017

Ice Cube joins Interscope.

After years of being an independent artist, the multi-faceted Don Mega has signed a deal with the label and is prepping the 25th anniversary edition of his Death Certificate classic.

“We are thrilled to announce that Ice Cube has joined the Interscope family,” said John Janick, Chairman and CEO of Interscope Geffen A&M. “He’s obviously one of the legendary figures in hip-hop…that’s a massive statement on its own, but he’s so much more than that. Cube has an incredible body of work, and as a fan I’m honored to welcome him to the label.”

Wasting no time, the Rock & Roll Hall of Famer will release the 25th anniversary edition of his critically-acclaimed sophomore solo album, Death Certificate, which is set to drop June 9 along with three new tracks: “Only One Me,” “Dominate The Weak,” and the lead single, “Good Cop, Bad Cop.”

The politically and socially-charged original was heavily inspired by the Rodney King beating in 1991, and the events that followed. Time has passed, but Cube says many of the album’s messages remain relevant more than two decades later.

“Sadly, our community is dealing with many of the same issues,” explained Cube. “I only hope that young millennials feeling powerless in the ‘hood can channel their own anger and frustration by listening to this record.”

Outside of music, Cube remains a major player in Hollywood. He recently announced that he’s working on the long-awaited and highly-anticipated Last Friday.

Pre-orders for the project will be available June 2. Death Certificate: 25th Anniversary is due June 9.

Death Certificate: 25 Anniversary Edition Tracklisting

The Death Side

1. “Only One Me”
2. “Good Cop, Bad Cop”
3. “Dominate The Weak”
4. “The Funeral”
5. “The Wrong N**** to F*** Wit”
6. “My Summer Vacation”
7. “Steady Mobbin'”
8. “Robin Lench”
9. “Givin’ Up the Nappy Dug Out”
10. “Look Who’s Burnin'”
11. “A Bird In The Hand”
12. “Man’s Best Friend”
13. “Alive on Arrival”
14. “Death”

The Life Side

15. “The Birth”
16. “I Wanna Kill Sam”
17. “Horny Lil’ Devil”
18. “Black Korea”
19. “True to the Game”
20. “Color Blind”
21. “Doing Dumb Sh**”
22. “Us”
23. “No Vaseline”


Beyoncé to Reportedly Launch 'Renaissance' Tour in Summer 2023

Queen Bey is bringing “Renaissance” to a stadium near you next summer.

Diddy Gives Yung Miami a Maybach

The couple’s relationship is still going strong.

Kanye West Apologizes to Kim Kardashian, Admits 'Sway Had the Answer' in 'GMA' Interview

Ye opens up about co-parenting with Kim Kardashian and his fallout with Gap and Adidas.
View More

Sponsored Stories