Whitney Houston's 'The Bodyguard' Reissue to Feature Unreleased Music

  /  10.12.2017

In honor of the 25th anniversary of The Bodyguard, Legacy Recordings and The Estate of Whitney E. Houston will reissue the iconic film’s soundtrack featuring previously unheard material from Whitney Houston.

Due Nov. 17, Whitney Houston – I Wish You Love: More From The Bodyguard will include live recordings from “The Bodyguard Tour,” alternate versions of songs from The Bodyguard film, and a different edition of the “I’m Every Woman” remix.

The original Grammy-winning Bodyguard soundtrack arrived Nov. 17, 1992. It was co-executive produced by Houston and Clive Davis and went on to sell more than one million copies in its first week. It has sold more than 45 million copies worldwide and has been certified 17x platinum by the RIAA in the U.S. alone.

In 1993, Houston told Rolling Stone about the importance of the film, which became a milestone in her storied career. “I wanted to do some acting, but I mean, I never thought I’d be costarring with Kevin Costner,” she said. “I thought, ‘I’ll just get this little part somewhere, and I’ll work my way up.’ And all of a sudden I get this script, and I said: ‘I don’t know. This is kind of . . . big.‘ So I was scared. It took me two years to decide to do it. I kind of waited too long for Kevin. I think it got on his nerves. He called one day and said, ‘Listen, are you going to do this movie with me or not?’ I told him about my fears. I said: ‘I’m afraid. I don’t want to go out there and fall.’ And he said: ‘I promise you I will not let you fall. I will help you.’ And he did.”

She may have had fears about acting, but she knew that her vocals were powerful. She was just surprised with how quickly the song succeeded. “With ‘I Will Always Love You,’ I had no idea,” she said. “I knew the song was incredible. I knew I had sung the shit out of it. But I had no idea that that record would sell so much, so fast.”

Whitney Houston – I Wish You Love: More From The Bodyguard Tracklisting

1. “I Will Always Love You” (Alternate Mix)
2. “I Have Nothing” (Film Version)
3. “I’m Every Woman” (Clivilles & Cole House Mix I Edit)
4. “Run to You” (Film Version)
5. “Queen of the Night” (Film Version)
6. “Jesus Loves Me” (Film Version)
7. “Jesus Loves Me” (A Capella Version)
8. “I Will Always Love You” (Film Version)
9. “I Have Nothing” (Live)
10. “Run to You” (Live)
11. “Jesus Loves Me / He’s Got the Whole World In His Hands” (Live)
12. “Queen of the Night” (Live)
13. “I Will Always Love You” (Live)
14. “I’m Every Woman” (Live)


SZA Says She Can Drop 'Lana' Randomly Because "No One’s Actually Expecting" It

SZA revealed she’s stuck between dropping music sporadically like Frank Ocean or being more consistent ...

King Harris Shares Update After His Viral "Silver Spoon" Argument With Father T.I.

T.I.’s son, King Harris, said he’ll “stand tall” after his viral tussle at Sunday’s  (Nov. ...

T.I. Reacts To His Son Not Knowing Tupac Shakur Was An Actor: "How Could You Embarrass Me Like That?"

During ‘Complex’s’ “GOAT Talk,” King Harris hilariously shared, “I thought that was a lookalike of ...

Nicki Minaj Says ‘Pink Friday 2’ Is "Beyond Anything I Could Have Imagined"

Nicki Minaj also issued a cautionary message to her foes: “If you [are] on my ...
View More

Sponsored Stories