Rap-Up TV: Mack Maine Talks New Lil Wayne and Drake Albums

2013 is shaping up to be another big year for YMCMB. In the months ahead, the label will release new albums from Lil Wayne, Drake, Jay Sean, Bow Wow, Mystikal, Busta Rhymes, and a Young Money compilation. Young Money president Mack Maine briefed us on some of the upcoming projects at Cash Money’s 4th Annual Pre-Grammy Party over the weekend.

Following Tyga’s Hotel California, Lil Wayne will drop I Am Not a Human Being II on March 26. “It’s lyrically insane,” Mack told Rap-Up TV. “When he does the I Am Not a Human Being, he actually taps into a different part of his brain where he just talks out of his mind and out of this world. Just expect him being Wayne, but more edgy, saying what he wants, a lot of fun, a lot of high energy.”

He also explained how the Kanye West-designed cover art came together. “We don’t have a Kanye track on there, so we improvised and we got a cover from him,” he said. “He did 2 Chainz’ cover [Based on a T.R.U. Story], and we liked 2 Chainz’ cover… Kanye’s great, he’s brilliant.”

Drake’s third album Nothing Was the Same will arrive this summer. “He’s on the same pace as he always is to drop a classic. He’s like 10 songs in,” shared Mack. “Knowing him, that’s only like 4 songs, he probably won’t keep 6 of them. He’s a perfectionist though.”

Also on the slate is another Young Money compilation. While they’ve only recorded one song so far, he’s looking to get the crew in the studio for more. “I’m trying to get some dates where we can all lock in.”