Crown Jewel

New Music: The-Dream – ‘Black Magic’

A month after dropping his Crown EP, The-Dream re-ups with “Black Magic,” the first offering from the second half of his album Jewel. The Radio Killa casts a love spell over the enchanting Tricky Stewart-helmed track.

“That’s why I don’t believe in love at first sight / I believe in love when the mood’s right,” he croons.

Crown Jewel showcases his two sides. “Crown is more modern R&B, and Jewel will be more what you might think of as my songwriter side, the songs I might have given to other artists before,” said The-Dream. “If you put me in a box, Jewel is more what you get when that box is open. But I’m not limited by any box I’ve been put in—every year I’m expanding and growing, and it makes for a more interesting plot.”

The album, which will be released on his Contra Paris label, is now available for pre-order and will arrive on July 10. See the tracklisting below.

Crown Jewel Tracklisting

1. “Prime”
2. “That’s My S**t” (feat. T.I.)
3. “All I Need”
4. “Fruition”
5. “Throw It Back”
6. “Royalty”
7. “Cedes Benz”
8. “90’s Love”

1. “Black Magic”
2. “Love Me Back”
3. “First Time In Paris”
4. “Boat”
5. “Cover Girl”
6. “I Love You”
7. “Butter”
8. “Transparent”